Bookforge: BOOKFORGE is a traditional hand bookbindery and book restoration studio located in historic Erie, Pennsylvania. Relationships are our advantages. The bookbinders at BOOKFORGE work closely with private collectors and book sellers on conservation and restoration efforts. Doing what is right for the book is always paramount and conservation is stressed over restoration in most cases. Our bookbinders do their homework. No one person knows everything about bookbinding and restoration. Communication and information sharing are key, there is no better tools than books and social research, peer-to-peer. BOOKFORGE is a bookbinding, book arts, and book restoration educational atelier studio dedicated to preserving and teaching the trade and art of traditional hand bookbinding. Passing the torch to the next generation of bookbinders, book artists, and book restorers is always on our minds. Making techniques, processes, and tribal knowledge available to the student ensures the continuity of the bookbinding trade.
DCNR - Presque Isle: A natural land formation that has taken thousands of years to develop, Presque Isle is a staple to Erie's identity. While always existent throughout Erie's known history, it did not become a state park until 1921. DCNR (Department of Conservation and Natural Resources) was established on July 1, 1995. It is charged with: maintaining and protecting 121 state parks, managing 2.2 million acres of state forest land, providing information on the state's ecological and geologic resources, establishing community conservation partnerships with grants and technical assistance to benefit rivers, trails, greenways, local parks and recreation, regional heritage parks, open space, and natural areas.
George Deutsch: Executive Director, Emeritus, of the Hagen History Center, has co-founded several historical organizations related to the Civil War and the War of 1812 in his hometown of Erie. He is a leader in historical preservation and multiple public history projects. Mr. Deutsch co-founded the Flagship Niagara League, which played a central role in reconstructing the U.S. Brig Niagara and creating the Erie Maritime Museum. He annually teaches history courses at Chautauqua Institution near Mayville, N.Y., has lectured and taught courses on both political and historical topics at Erie’s Jefferson Educational Society since 2010, and for 30 years has given numerous presentations on Civil War history across seven states and Washington, D.C. Mr. Deutsch has been published in numerous journals and also served as a consultant to National Geographic magazine for its Civil War sesquicentennial issue. He has been honored twice by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission and received the Local History Award in 2003 from the Erie County Historical Society. He earned a degree in history from Mercyhurst University and was also educated at Georgetown University’s School of Foreign Service. After a hiatus, due to his responsibilities at the Hagen History Center, he has returned to writing a new book on the famous Civil War regiment, the 83rd Pennsylvania Infantry from northwestern Pennsylvania.
Edinboro Area Historical Society: The Edinboro Area Historical Society collects, preserves and promotes the history of Edinboro and the surrounding area. The Society maintains a historic house with furnishings representative of the Victorian Era. In the same building an archive of materials related to Edinboro and the area are preserved and made available to the public at no charge. In addition to maintaining the Doucette House and its contents, the Society offers five programs a year. Each presentation gives new insight to the history of the Edinboro area. These too are available to the public at no charge. Members of the Society each receive the annual publication The Fountain as part of their membership. These are distributed at the annual banquet in January.
Erie Art Museum: The Erie Art Museum began in the year 1898 as the Art Club of Erie, located at the original Public Library on Perry Square. Its new building opened in 2010 and houses over 8,000 pieces! In addition to beautiful galleries of rotating art exhibits, they offer a range of educational programs and classes throughout the year.
Erie Insurance Heritage Center: Ever since we signed our first policy in 1925, ERIE has built its reputation on customer service and our culture has deep roots. The Erie Insurance Heritage Center reflects a time when the building served as the home office for ERIE from 1938-1956. It's a step back in time, complete with rotary telephones and typewriters.
Erie Society for Genealogical Research: Established in 1972, the Erie Society for Genealogical Research is a 100% volunteer organization. We are an independent organization affiliated with the Erie County Historical Society, both located at the Hagen History Center museum campus in Erie, Pennsylvania.
https://www.genealogyerie.org/
Erie Maritime Museum: The Erie Maritime Museum is a community gathering place welcoming audiences of all abilities and backgrounds to encounter and experience the maritime history & heritage of the Greater Erie region, including civilian activity and innovation, military service, and Pennsylvania’s contributions to the maritime industry and stewardship of the Great Lakes. www.eriemaritimemuseum.org
WBro. Lorne G. Evans: WBro. Lorne Evans, member of Ancient Landmarks/Doric No. 654 (Hamilton, ON) and Perry-Keystone No. 392 (Erie, PA), is a well respected historian, author, and lecturer on topics including Freemasonry, British and Candian history, and the Royal Family.
Fort LeBoeuf Historical Society: The Fort Le Boeuf Historical Society is located in Northwest Pennsylvania in the small town of Waterford. It was founded in the 1970’s to save one of Waterford’s most historic buildings, the Eagle Hotel, built in 1826. The new group’s hard work, both in physical labor and fundraising, saved this beautiful building from potential demolition. Some of those original members are still part of the group and other volunteers have joined their ranks to help preserve Waterford’s history. The Eagle Hotel has been joined by the Judson House, Washington Park and the FLB Museum…all of which are open for tours. The Fort LeBoeuf History Campus stands on what was the original home to Fort LeBoeuf. The Fort Leboeuf Historical Society is dedicated to collecting, protecting, and preserving the history of Waterford, Pa for the interest and education of present and future generations.
Goodell Gardens & Homestead: Goodell Gardens & Homestead is a non-profit botanical garden and accredited arboretum located in Edinboro, Pennsylvania. The purpose of Goodell Gardens & Homestead is to create an education-oriented botanical garden and arboretum on the 78-acre Goodell family farm by emulating the Goodell family passion for gardening and horticulture.
Hagen History Center: Hagen History Center formerly known as the Erie County Historical Society is a public museum located in Erie, Pennsylvania and focuses on the history of Erie County for the past 200 years. There is also an additional campus known as the Battles Estates in Girard, Pennsylvania. The museum includes exhibit buildings, archival and curatorial collections, educational classrooms, and house museums in Erie & Girard.
Tom Hansen: Tom Hansen has been portraying Strong Vincent since 2010 and has refined my portrayal as him since. He is his graveside speaker since 2005, has spoken to many organizations, including Boy Scouts, Historical Societies, Civil War Roundtables, Strong Vincent High School Alumni, and Masonic organizations. The highlight is speaking from the rock that he was shot from, on Little Round Top, Gettysburg! Hansen has led reenactors at several parades and marched in the Gettysburg Remembrance Day Parade and was asked to be a tour guide, for Corry Travel, as they are taking a trip to Gettysburg, at the end in the month.
Harborcreek Historical Society: The Harborcreek Historical Society was created in 1994 to promote local history. With the help of the community, the Society safeguards and preserves history, artifacts, and memories of Harborcreek’s past. You’re invited to browse our displays, join us for programs and events, and use the archives for family and local history research.
Historical Marker DataBase: This website is an illustrated searchable online catalog of historical information viewed through the filter of roadside and other permanent outdoor markers, monuments, and plaques. It contains photographs, inscription transcriptions, marker locations, maps, additional information and commentary, and links to more information. Anyone can add new markers to the database and update existing marker pages with new photographs, links, information and commentary.
https://www.hmdb.org/
Hornby School Museum: Hornby School Museum is located in the former one-room schoolhouse Hornby School, also previously known as Shadduck School. The building was used as a school in Greenfield Township, Erie County, Pennsylvania between October 1875 and May 1956--a total of 81 years.
Hurry Hill Farm: Hurry Hill Maple Farm has developed wonderful experiences for visitors–children, families, sugar makers or anyone curious about nature’s pure product. The maple sugaring process, natural and cultural history, lore and legend are on display with educational activities and exhibits along with samples of maple products. The Maple Museum is where young and old can see, touch, taste, and listen to the past while learning about an important part of Pennsylvania’s agricultural heritage. Weather permitting, you can take the Walking Trail to the woods to see the sugarhouse. A museum highlight is the story of the Newbery Medal award-winning book Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen. An extensive exhibit shows the people and places in the Edinboro and Cambridge Springs area the author used in the book. You can even hold the Newbery Medal and get a free bookmark!
Jefferson Education Society: As a nonprofit think tank, the Jefferson Educational Society of Erie was founded in 2008 to promote civic enlightenment and drive community progress for the Erie Region through the study, research, and discussion of ideas and events that have influenced the human condition. The Jefferson ensures the preservation of the past for study and examines key lessons to better build the future of our region, and through the exploration of contemporary issues facing our region and nation, the Jefferson serves as a platform of discussion and a vehicle for progress to enhance the civic future of the Erie Region.
Chris Kinder - City of Erie Preservation Planner: Chris Kinder is a native of Cape Girardeau, Missouri. He earned is bachelors of science in historic preservation and master of arts in historic preservation from Southeast Missouri State University. Prior to becoming Erie's first historic preservation planner, Chris worked for the Alabama Historical Commission and the Tennessee Historical Commission. Chris is excited to be helping to build Erie's first municipal historic preservation program and looks forward to seeing preservation play a role in the City's revitalization.
MaryJane Phillips Koenig: MaryJane Phillips Koenig, who spearheaded the Erie County World War I Centennial Committee that created the World War I Memorial, was raised in Union City, graduated from Gannon, and taught French and English at Erie East High School for 30 years. She and her husband have made several trips to the World War I battlefields of France for research on a book she is writing about her great uncle’s part in the war. She is on the Board of Erie County Veterans Memorial Park.
Lake Erie Lights: On July 25, 2014, Presque Isle Lighthouse was transitioned from a private residence for park staff to a public building for visitors. The purpose is to learn about the rich maritime history of Presque Isle Lighthouse. The newly formed non-profit Presque Isle Light Station Corporation signed a thirty-five-year lease with the Department of Conservation and Natural Resources (DCNR). This action will allow for the restoration of the site, which is on the National Register of Historic Places. Visitors now have the opportunity to tour the lighthouse on a regular basis during the summer season.
Lawrence Park Historical Society: The Lawrence Park Historic District is roughly bounded by East Lake Road, Bell Street, Lawrence Parkway and Smithson Avenue, an area that includes the original neighborhoods and commercial blocks of what later became Lawrence Park Township. The nation’s first recognized city planner, Philadelphia native John Nolen, helped design the Lawrence Park development to provide nice neighborhoods for General Electric Co. employees in 1911 after construction of the GE plant began just east of Erie in 1910. In 1917, Nolen added Lawrence Park’s signature row houses to his plans to accommodate growing numbers of wartime employees. The Lawrence Park Historical Society works to preserve and protect this township's unique history.
Masonic Temple: The Erie Masonic Temple has stood for over a century as a monument to the timeless traditions and values upon which our nation was founded. It has been a vigilant sentinel; a constant amid changing times. Designed by the prominent Pittsburgh/Boston architectural firm of Alden & Harlow, the Erie Masonic Temple is one of the most architecturally distinctive buildings in downtown Erie, and only one of the few remaining from its era. The building has been recognized as historically significant by placement on the Registry of Historic Places in 2020.
The Erie Masonic Temple Building is located at 32 West 8th Street, Erie, Pennsylvania on the northeast corner of 8th and Peach Streets in the educational, financial, and governmental center of Erie.
The cornerstone for the Erie Masonic Temple Building was laid in March of 1909. Construction was overseen by local general contractor Henry Schenk Company and the building was completed a short fourteen months later in June 1910. At the time of its completion, the Erie Masonic Building was the tallest and most modern structure in the City of Erie.
The Erie Masonic Temple is a six-story mixed use commercial building with over ten thousand square feet of office space, six ground level storefronts, two large banquet venues, and several smaller spaces that can be used for more intimate gatherings or business meetings. The fourth floor is reserved for the Masonic Lodges and various other Masonic organizations to meet. The building has original hardwood door and window framework, and natural marble tile flooring throughout. The Grand Ballroom and Lodge Room ceilings are ornate with plaster relief details. Arcadia Hall features a stone and tile fireplace, a fountain, and terrazzo floors. The sixth-floor conference room features a 60 square foot skylight.
Mercyhurst University - Thomas B. Hagen Department of History: Mercyhurst’s Thomas B. Hagen Department of History helps prepare students for a successful future whether they choose to study traditional history, public history and museum studies, documentary filmmaking, or history paired with secondary education as a path to teaching. The unique and individually tailored aspects of this program equip students with the abilities to conduct thorough research; to analyze and weigh facts; and to produce sound and eloquent conclusions both orally and in writing.
Our West Bayfront: The mission of Our West Bayfront is to enhance the quality of life in the West Bayfront neighborhoods by promoting civic involvement, thoughtful development, historical preservation, and neighborhood pride. Our work centers on creating healthy, stable West Bayfront neighborhoods by improving the built environment, strengthening neighborly relationships, and empowering residents to shape the future of the community. Our efforts are guided by the Our West Bayfront Community Plan and by constant conversation with community members through both structured and informal opportunities. To learn more about our focus on core areas and initiatives, visit www.ourwestbayfront.org or follow us on Facebook and Instagram @ourwestbayfront.
Panama Rocks: Panama Rocks was established as a privately operated park in 1885, the same year that the oldest State park in the United States was founded (Niagara Falls State Park). The formations at Panama Rocks are believed to have been sacred land to the Erielhonan (Eriez) people and, while the area was used by robbers and counterfeiters in the mid-1800's, Panama Rocks quickly became a popular tourist attraction when the park was established. https://www.panamarocks.com/
Penn State Behrend Archives: Originally called “Behrend Center” Penn State Erie will begin a year-long 75th anniversary celebration later this month. Hammermill Paper Company broke ground for its first building 125 years ago on June 25, 1898. The archives maintains historical materials relating to both organizations, as well as resources pertaining to the Behrend family, founders of Hammermill.
Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission: The Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (PHMC) is the official history agency of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Created in 1945, we are responsible for the collection, conservation, and interpretation of Pennsylvania's historic heritage, which we accomplish through the Pennsylvania State Archives, the State Museum of Pennsylvania, the Pennsylvania Trails of History (historic sites and museums), the Pennsylvania State Historic Preservation Office, and the Bureau of Management Services.
https://www.phmc.pa.gov
For PHMC's Historic Marker database search: https://share.phmc.pa.gov/markers/
Pennsylvania Soldiers' and Sailors' Home: The Pennsylvania Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Home (PSSH) in Erie is the oldest of the six veterans homes, having served as an important historic marker throughout Erie County since it opened in 1886. The home rests on 26 acres overlooking beautiful Lake Erie, but you can’t walk far before coming across a symbol of the lives sacrificed and freedoms fought for. Whether it is the Major General "Mad Anthony" Wayne Blockhouse, Avenue of Flags depicting each of the five military branches or the landmark Civil War cannon, anyone visiting the home is reminded that American heroes have made the PSSH their home for more than a century. But what makes PSSH’s exterior special and unique is the wonderfully manicured, four-acre Veterans Memorial Cemetery that serves as the final resting place to more than 1,300 veterans who served our nation dating to the Civil War era. The PSSH is the only veterans home to maintain a cemetery for veterans.
Erin Phillips: Erin is the creator of the Instagram and blog Old Erie On Foot, which explores the historic residential architecture of Erie, PA. Born from her love of taking walks in her historic West Bayfront neighborhood with her family, since its creation in 2018, the account has evolved into an in-depth house history research project, in which she uncovers the hidden stories of a home's past. She is also the Secretary of Preservation Erie, a local non-profit dedicated to preserving the character of Erie's built history, and chairs the Endangered Properties List committee in that group. Erin is also a contributing writer to the Erie Reader, and tries to focus her features on the historic buildings of Greater Erie being reused in creative ways. She can be reached via her website www.olderieonfoot.com or via Instagram @olderieonfoot.
Preservation Erie: The mission of Preservation Erie is to promote, preserve, and enhance the distinctive character of greater Erie through community-based planning, design, and historic preservation. For more information about their history, visit https://preservationerie.org/history/
Regional Science Consortium: Located on the shores of Lake Erie, the RSC is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization facilitating research, education, and collaborations with RSC members. The RSC is not directly affiliated with an institution, but instead is a consortium of institutions seeking collaborations in scientific research. Organized in 2004, the RSC moved into the research wing of the Tom Ridge Environmental Center prior to its opening in May 2006. Since that time, the RSC has been an active part of the scientific research community fostering numerous collaborations on a variety of topics. The mission of the RSC is to promote and enhance our knowledge and understanding of the Lake Erie and Ohio River Basin ecosystems through research and education.
Dr. Benjamin Scharff: Dr. Benjamin Scharff is Associate Professor and Chair of the Thomas B. Hagan Department of History at Mercyhurst University in Erie Pennsylvania. He specializes in Early American and Public History. He published a book entitled “Skulking in the Woods:” Irregular Warfare in Pennsylvania During the Seven Years’ War and has a monograph entitled “Busy Mischievous Fellows:” Imperial Agency in Pennsylvania During the Seven Years’ War under contract for publication along with numerous other publications. Dr. Scharff has collaborated in a number of ways with community partners since arriving in Erie in 2014.
Ann Silverthorn: Ann Silverthorn, a member of the Erie County World War I Centennial Committee, is a freelance writer who explores a wide variety of topics and genres, especially with a passion for history. Her recently published book, William E. Dimorier: Servant Leader, focuses on a teacher and principal at Erie Academy High School who led the campaign to build Erie County Veterans Stadium and dedicate it to those who served in World War I.
Kenneth C. Springirth: Local author Kenneth Springirth has a lifelong interest in rail transportation. Springirth has written over 40 books on the history of trains, trolleys, and other rail transportation.
Ken Vybiral: Ken Vybiral is the Volunteer Coordinator at the PA Soldiers’ & Sailors’ Home here in Erie. Mr. Vybiral relocated from his hometown of Pittsburgh, PA in June of 2014 when he accepted his position. He is a graduate of North Hills High School and earned a Bachelor of Arts in Communications from Edinboro University. Mr. Vybiral began his career in Higher Education working at colleges and universities in the Pittsburgh area and this work took him across the country and eventually back to Western PA. Mr. Vybiral has worked to engage the community to the mission of the Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Home and has established traditions to include the Home’s Veteran Expo, a Four Chaplains Ceremony, Women’s Military History Programs, a Memorial Day cookout and a full participant in the national Wreaths Across America commemoration. Mr. Vybiral is proud member of the SONS of the American Legion at Post 80 in Pittsburgh.
WQLN: For more than 50 years, WQLN PBS NPR has been the Lake Erie region’s passport to a wider world—a world of discovery, exploration, lifelong learning, and an ongoing respectful exchange of ideas. But we’re not just TV and radio. WQLN reaches out to those vested in children’s education—parents, teachers, and the community at large—by providing family literacy workshops and community events that bridge the gap between the classroom and the home.
Yahn Planetarium - PSU Behrend: For years, the planetarium been the place where thousands of young people and adults come to learn about the universe and worlds beyond our reach. The Erie Planetarium served as a resource for the Erie community for more than fifty years, and it continues today as the Yahn Planetarium, now a part of Penn State Behrend. The planetarium is located in the School of Science complex on the Behrend campus.