Want to learn more about Erie history? Check out this list of books on local history!
Has histERIE Week sparked your interest in genealogy researching? Here are a few great titles to get you started!
Need some ideas on how to start researching a historical topic or genealogy? Here are some great resources the library provides! These databases can be viewed by visiting HERE.
Ancestry - Library Edition: Library patrons have access to Ancestry.com library edition in the Blasco Library Heritage Room. This access allows patrons to search records, view family trees, and print information. This resource is only available in the Blasco Library Heritage Room.
FamilySearch: FamilySearch allows for the creation of family trees and researching family history. It provides genealogy information free of charge with detailed help. This database is available to patron for in-library use only at the Blasco Library's Heritage Room.
Erie Newspapers on Newsbank - Current and Historic: Find full image/text articles on local news, issues, events and people from current and archived issues of the Erie Times-News, Erie Morning Dispatch, and Erie Daily Times. Coverage spans from 1884 - Present. This resources is available to resident, Erie County Public Library card holders, and can be accessed from anywhere.
PA Photos and Documents: Explore thousands of digitized documents and photographs from unique collections in libraries across Pennsylvania. This resource is an external web resource made available through the PA Power Library
Fold3: A genealogy database that features collections of original records including stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military spanning from the Revolutionary War to today. This resources is available to all resident, Erie County Public Library card holders, and can be accessed from anywhere.
Heritage Quest: Provides comprehensive information for conducting genealogical and local history resources. Some resources include census records and city directories. This resource is available to all resident, Erie County Public Library card holders, and can be accessed from anywhere.
Here are a few other websites that also have great resources!
Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission: Pennsylvania's historical commission provides access to many different researching tools. There are digital collections, free access to Pennsylvania state records through ancestry.com Pennsylvania, and research guides. You can view all the resources available HERE.
National Archives: While most of their collection is still available for in-person researching only, there are still many resources available, including catalog searching and other researching tools. See all the resources available at archives.gov/research
Find-A-Grave: This external web resources is free, and allows visitors to search the largest collection of gravesites. Records include gravesite location, dates, family members, and some include pictures of the gravesites. Visit the site at findagrave.com
Check out some of our staff-favorite, history social media accounts!
Instagram:
@BlackArchives.co
@CostumingInColor
@CheapOldHouses
@NewberryLibrary
@OldErieOnFoot
@RustAndDirt
@SavingOldHouses
@ToTheShireborn
Facebook:
Cheap Old Houses
Erie's History & Memorabilia
Project Algerine
YouTube:
Project Algerine
Tasting History with Max Miller
The History Guy
Townsends
Podcasts:
Dan Carlin's Hardcore History
Gastropod
History Chicks
Stuff You Missed In History Class